Translation of subtitles?

Hi,

is there any way to translate the subtitles? I would volunteer for the German translation.

Christian

It looks to me that all the text is in the actual python files…

It would be a great idea to put all the text into external include files that could be then be customized by language

@cwiele, @Paul

I also would like to contribute for Japanese translation.

Tatsuya.

A text file containing all of the English subtitles in ver. 1.0.2. has now been added here.

If you would like to help out the Piper community by translating them into your language of choice, we would greatly appreciate the effort! After downloading and translating them, please send me an email at jordan@withpiper.com with the translated file attached.

Thanks Jordan.

I started playing around with the translation in the original level files. Unfortunately, it seems that the character set used in Minecraft Pi Edition does not support non-ASCII characters!? I manage to use German umlauts in the files by setting the uf8-encoding, but the postToChat results in strange characters for the non-ASCII umlauts.

Any idea ?

O.k., found the issue. Python uses UTF-8 as encoding, while Minecraft uses CP437. With a little hack it works:
In piper/game/minecraft/connection.py change

self.socket.sendall(s)

to

self.socket.sendall(s.decode(‘utf8’).encode(‘cp437’))

But I don’t think there is no support for non-Western languages.

Hi,

In terminal, type: sudo raspi-config

In the configuration menu that pops up check out the “internationalization options” and see if that works.

Reference: https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentation/configuration/raspi-config.md