Suggestions and ideas for Piper

Suggest and discuss new ideas for Piper, new Piper game modes and things you’d like to see!.

Our Piper box is together and it really is a wonderful thing! Unfortunately we can’t play with it yet because the SD card isn’t working but something we have noticed that would be a helpful for next build might be a handle for the case. It’s a gorgeous box/case but I can see a handle coming in handy for transporting it… Just a suggestion!

Just a thought. If you plan on adding handles, as I have, study the latch, Though charmingly retro, it is not super-secure. It’s only one point of security against all the contents spilling. If you add handles and carry the unit vertically (rather than flat), consider adding one or more extra hook latches (or the like) or a strap just for added security. Understand though: I’m a packing designer and tend to over design things. But better safe than…you know.

Another suggestion: you might want to include a small container of thread locker with the nested screws used with the bracing arms (the bits that hold the lid up when Piper is opened). Otherwise the screws will gradually loosen and, given that if they fall out, they will fall out behind the screen, this would be bad for the user. Luckily we had some Loctite in the tool chest for the build.

Thank you!

Just curious:

Did you have this issue (of the loosening of the screws) that quickly? Or was it an anticipation thing (that is, did they just got slightly loose in the course of a day or so and you saw it coming and decided to implement?) Just wondering if I should keep an eye open. We have Loctite and use it on various things as needed.Either way, super easy fix, I was just hoping for some clarification on your experience.

I agree a handle would make transport a little easier and definitely safer.